Home

I remember about 5 years ago you couldn’t turn a page in a magazine without seeing a write up about Demeter and the quirky ‘real life’ fragrances they made. I remember perusing the fragrance section of David Jones desperately wanting one, but I remember not being too impressed with the quality. Time passed, fads changed and I completely forgot about them until this morning when I saw a link somewhere about them. I Googled to see if they were still in business. The answer is yes, and their collection is now massive! Below a selection of the particular ones that caught my eye, either for shock value, comedy, and there were even a few that I am genuinely interested in buying. The majority below are food related. Of course.

All pics are taken from the Demeter website. If you click on the names of the fragrances, it will take you to their page, where you can buy directly from the website.

First up, were the fragrances that made me curious to see what they would smell like.

Dulce de Leche
I love Dulce de Leche. A thick, sweet caramel that is best smeared on big pieces of toast with butter. As a fragrance? I think it would be too sickly, but my curiosity is piqued.

Apple Pie

The smell of a baking apple pie is incredible. I would imagine this one to smell like caramelising apples, buttery pastry and just a hint of cinnamon.

Gin & Tonic

This one I would be interested to smell just to see how it translates. Hints of lime and an effervescence maybe?

The next 2 scents are definitely curiosity ones for me.

Wet Garden and Rain

Thy’re both so distinctive when you can smell them in the air. Not sure I would spend the money on either though.

Brownie

I love Brownies, and to be honest I wouldn’t be too opposed to smelling like one.

Cinnamon Bun

I had a body wash a few years ago that was Cinnamon Bun scented. Admittedly it was a bit weird, but I really like cinnamon!

Condensed Milk

I love condensed milk, but I’m not sure what it smells like. I think it would be quite milky scented.

These Demeter fragrances just plain make me laugh.

Frozen Pond

What the heck?

Reeses Peanut Butter Cup

Just imagining seeing this sitting on my bedside table makes me laugh.

Snow

This is probably up there with Frozen Pond.  Is there really a scent?

Celery

This makes me laugh because my husband loves celery while I am not so fussed by it and can take it or leave it.

These perfumes are ones that I would actually be interested in buying.

Hello Kitty

If you spend more than 5 minutes with me, you will know I completely lose my sh!t over Hello Kitty. I love it. Or her. Whatever. I really had to be convinced that getting married at Hello Kitty world in Japan wasn’t a viable option.

Laundromat

More than anything I love smell of fresh laundry. And thanks must be given to Jess at The Vegan Foodophile for introducing me to how wonderful fabric softener is. I think I would just spend a few minutes a day spraying this around the flat to surround myself with the scent.

Peach

Apart from extra hours of daylight, the best thing about Summer are stone fruits and king of all the stone fruits is the peach. The sweet delicate fragrance of peaches signifies Summer more than anything else.

Basil

I really love the smell of basil and I don’t know anyone who could ever dislike that scent.

Apple Blossom

I imagine this would be just a pretty delicate scent you could use everyday to remind you of Spring. Lovely.

Earl Grey Tea

I think along with the Peach scent, this one be one of two that I would seriously like to buy. Earl Grey has such a distinct scent that I love and even as I type this, I have a mug of Earl Grey perched on the table next to me.

These fragrances basically fall under the category of ‘WHAT WERE THEY THINKING?’

Sushi

Why you would ever want to smell this?

Lobster

Probably filed away as ‘crazy’ for the same reason as Sushi would not work as a fragrance. ‘What perfume is that?’ ‘Oh, it’s Lobster’.

Paint

Just plain bizarre.

Dregs

As in the dregs of a bottle of wine. So very odd.

Turpentine

Why anyone would pay for this is beyond me.

Fiery Curry

When you work in an office environment, and you sit as closely to the kitchen as I do, you have the privilege of being able to smell what everyone is having for lunch. Smelling a delicious curry at lunchtimes is fine, but do you really want people sniffing you while you’re in a meeting and thinking you smell of a fiery curry? The answer is no.

Going through the list of fragrances at Demeter gave me a good laugh. I highly recommend a perusal of their website purely for curiosity!

One thought on “Demeter fragrances

  1. Pingback: Do you want to smell like sushi? | Happy Sushi Belly

Leave a Reply

