Home

A longtime fan of David Chang and in particular the Lucky Peach magazine he co-founded with Peter Meehan, Momofuku Noodle bar is actually my first opportunity to try his food.

Wanting to start things slowly, and not overly hungry, we skipped over the famed pork buns and went straight for ramen.

IMGP4660

To give a dish a name synonymous with the name of restaurant sets pretty high expectations. Surprisingly I was underwhelmed by the namesake Momofuku ramen. The soy based broth had a nice depth of flavour, but became a touch overwhelming towards the end. Noodles had a nice bite to them, and I opted to slurp the poached egg rather than swirl it through the broth and noodles. Flakes of pork shoulder sat next to a slice of pork belly. Both were cooked to a soft, delicate unctuousness, but for the price, I wanted there to be more.

IMGP4657

While I wasn’t blown away by Noodle bar, I’m still quite excited to try the other Momofuku restaurants. I’m still so new to New York, that my point of reference is still to compare things to London, and to be honest, I found both Bone Daddies and Shoryu to have stronger broth and better toppings. I also suspect that as the price point goes up, the food gets better, something I have no problem with – I want to try Ssam bar next!

Things I learnt about New York this week:
– Unlike London, there is no set rule for standing on the left of escalators. This infuriates me to no end.
– Food trucks are everywhere, you just need to keep your eyes peeled. A beef empanada purchased
– The majority of soda’s sold in America use corn syrup. The better restaurants tend to sell soda’s by smaller independent manufacturers that use cane sugar. The difference is monumental. Momofuku Noodle bar uses Jonnie Ryan Cola and it’s pretty great.
– Banks are so friendly here! I signed up for an American bank account, and the branch manager came over, shook my hand and thanked me for choosing them. I like that. The converse of this however is that despite being in the 21st century, the banks still need a business day to process all transactions and this includes transferring from one account to another. Sigh. Also, cheques are still pretty common here.

http://momofuku.com/new-york/noodle-bar/

Momofuku Noodle Bar on Urbanspoon

4 thoughts on “Momofuku Noodle Bar, East Village

  1. I’ve only been to Noodle Bar for the large-format fried chicken dinner they do (recommended!), but Ko is tied for my favourite restaurant in the whole city, and I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve done the whole duck dinner at Ssam Bar. You have to try the buns! And I have to try the ramen just to see if I agree with your so-so feelings.

Leave a Reply

