Home

The Electric Diner is a new re-incarnate of the Electric Brasserie after a fire in June 2012. Rather than rebuild, they chose to re-make the venue over into a Diner, capturing that trend of ‘America in London’, even hiring Brendan Sodikoff from Chicago restaurant Au Cheval to oversee and develop the menu. When joining an already existing trend, it can sometimes be all too easy to accidentally follow rather than offer something different yet stay on trend, however Electric Diner has managed to be part of the trend yet still elevate the classics.

IMGP4441

Pairs are seated at the counter and sadly not at the beautiful red leather booths. We were seated directly in front of the open grill. The pleasant initial warmth soon wore off and by the end of eating, I really couldn’t wait to get away from the overwhelming warmth.

IMGP4439

A decent range of alcoholic beverages, but not nearly enough non-alcoholic options. This is something I’m starting to notice more and more on options. There are some days when you don’t feel like alcohol, and to be honest I’m getting sick of seeing the usual trinity of coke, diet and sprite. My Grey Goose Le Fizz, with Elderflower, lime and soda was thankfully refreshing, but I still want to see more creative non-alcoholic drinks on menus!

IMGP4442

I am still having dreams about the bone marrow dish – dreams I tell you! It’s an early pick for the best thing I have eaten so far in 2013. The beef cheek marmalade on top was almost too sweet; almost too sticky, until you combined it with a bite of that rich wobbly bone marrow and fresh parsley. Buttery golden brioche seems to be the bread du jour these days but I defy anyone to find a use for it as appropriate as it was used here. All the components just worked together to be one glorious fatty, rich, heightening bite. Inner turmoil over whether I could finish an entire plate on another visit is something I am still considering. I could probably do it. Just saying.

IMGP4444

Fighting the urge not to order yet another burger, I ordered the shaved rib of beef, served cunningly as a French dip sandwich. I’m quite fond of the one served at Hawksmoor’s Spitalfields bar, in all its rich beefy glory, and was curious as to how this would stand up. Electric’s version was quite different, a bit less decadent, and not as rich. I find ciabatta normally so toothsome, but this admittedly worked in the sandwich’s favour, keeping it together until the very end, being dunked into separate pots of horseradish and gravy. After ordering, I panicked having realized I had forgotten a side order of fries. Kettle chips (I saw the packets being tipped out incase you were wondering) accompanied, thus relieving me of the horror that I would have no carbs alongside my ‘wich.

IMGP4448

I only swiped a few spoonfuls of the duck hash once Duncan had admitted defeat and thrown down his fork. Neither of us really needed the bone marrow to start; portions are so generous here. Good flavor, but I think an entire plate was a bit too same – needed more to break up the flavor. In hindsight I should have been more generous and offered to swap at the halfway point, but what are you going to do?

IMGP4447

There are more than enough intriguing items on the menu, that a 2nd visit will soon be in order. I need more of that bone marrow obviously, but I also want to consume the honey-fried chicken, and from sitting in front of the grill, I know for a fact just how swollen and massive the pork chop is. Electric Diner has a beautiful American diner feel, with a buzzing atmosphere to match. The food was great, well executed and I’m just only a little bit grumpy that Notting Hill is so annoyingly out of the way for me.

http://www.electricdiner.com/
Electric Diner on Urbanspoon
Square Meal

One thought on “Electric Diner, Notting Hill

Leave a Reply

